top of page

Meaning of Life of Buddha Thangka

Thangka painting depicting Life of Buddha narrates the most relevant life episodes of creator of Buddhist philosophy Siddhartha Gautama Buddha. This artwork is meant to be an illustration of the main events of the historical Buddha. It is also considered to be a visual representation of several philosophical aspects of Buddhism, especially the progress towards the achievement of spiritual enlightenment.

Pictured above, are the 'Twelve Great Deeds of the Buddha’s Life':

1. His Promise to Take Birth in the Human Realm and Guide Sentient Beings to Enlightenment
2. Queen Mayadevi’s Dream
3. The Birth of Buddha
4. Buddha’s Early Years and His Worldly Life
5. The Skilful Conduct of Worldly Affairs
6. The Four Encounters
7. The Renunciation of Worldly Life
8. The Six Years of Austerities
9. The Defeat of Mara
10. The Proclamation of the Teachings
11. The Descent from the Trayatrimsa Heaven
12. The Passage into Parinirvana

bottom of page